Backlit Notre Dame

I rather liked the sky in this shot I took. The sun very kindly positioned itself behind to give an extra glow.

I rather liked the sky in this shot I took. The sun very kindly positioned itself behind to give an extra glow.

I can see why Monet got all excited about the light effects on the frontage of Rouen Cathedral and while I had neither the time, nor the talent to paint it in all its different aspects I could appreciate the sun thoughtfully positioning itself behind Notre Dame just when we arrived to admire it and took this photograph.

Cherishing in my heart the description of the climb to the top of the Cathedral recorded in that delightful and winsome guide for the ingenue intending to travel to Paris, Our Hearts were Young and Gay, I rushed forward but discovered that the line was horrendous. I was obliged to assuage my grief by having a luncheon of confit of duck leg followed by a baba au rhum in a charming restaurant near Les Invalides.

Ah me! Life sometimes has its little disappointments.

One thought on “Backlit Notre Dame

  1. Pingback: Montmartre through the D’Orsay Clock | La vie est trop courte pour boire du mauvais vin

Leave a Reply

