Coral reflections with fish

At the risk of losing a limb, I snapped this photo in Exmouth as we drifted in sea kayaks over  a coral outcrop about 500m from shore.

At the risk of losing a limb, I snapped this photo in Exmouth as we drifted in sea kayaks over a coral outcrop about 500m from shore.

After a brief encounter with a shark, I was disinclined to go snorkeling over the reef but a school of electric blue fish swam enticingly over a coral outcrop and I risked losing an arm by dipping the camera into the water and took this photo.

I was delighted to see that the fish turned out to be distinguishable and nothing sinister appeared to be lurking in the shadows beyond. We did see a couple of huge whales going berserk nearby later in the day, slapping the ocean repeatedly with their tails so I did wonder if some giant tiger shark may have been about. Thankfully I did not need to confirm this and rowed on to new adventures the day after.

You may care to read my other Exmouth animal encounters by clicking on the links below.

My Blue Ringed Octopus Encounter

Kayaks and Sharks

Stone Fish

One thought on “Coral reflections with fish

Leave a Reply

