Ode to a …

Miss H, Kitty and I stood alone in the Galerie de Glace in Versailles. How were we there alone? That is our little secret...as is the object of the poem.
Miss H, Kitty and I stood alone in the Galerie des Glace in Versailles. How were we there alone? That is our little secret…as is the object of the poem.

Ode to a…

In the drawer my precious treasure,

Did your value first beguile me?

Depth and brilliance beyond measure,

Did your beauty hypnotise me?

 

Tossed down in a moment’s leisure.

Did you ever once deride me?

Here you lie, my secret pleasure

Ne’er once tried to shame or chide me.

 

To see again where last I gazed

I could not bear your flat rejection

To break your heart and find you crazed

Would leave me but a pale reflection

 

To pretend you’re blind would be a sham

For you see me just as I am

In response to Writing 201: Drawer

Other responses to the Writing 201 poetry course can be found here if you would like to read more.

Haiku – Sky Gleaners

Haiku – A haiku

Sonnet – Life is Short

Limericks – There was a Francophile from Nantucket

Prose poetry – à gauche

Elegy – Oh that I were a fog

4 Comments

  1. I just have a short list of questions that came to mind while reading your blog. Shall I post them directly here or can we connect by email (preferable, I think)? My contact page should work, hopefully!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

