Caught Red Handed

The little yachts raced along in the wind as the gathering storm clouds dappled the surface of the river with patch of bright sunlight.
The little yachts raced along in the wind as the gathering storm clouds dappled the surface of the river with patches of bright sunlight.

Heading home yesterday and I saw this little flotilla of tiny yachts engaged in a competition on the Swan River. Although I have never personally sailed a yacht, my Great Grandfather was the Commodore of the Royal Perth Yacht Club at some time in the dim past (I have the brass buttons from his jacket in my curiosity cabinet to prove it!). Consequently a great interest in all things nautical must be in my blood so I pulled over and snapped a few photos before toddling home to my domestic chores.

The contrast of the one yacht with the red sail (my nautical genes want to say “spinnaker”) was interesting and the highlighting of the white sails in a transient ray of sunshine also satisfied my “old sea dog” heart.

The little yachts skud over the choppy surface of the river on a uncertain autumn day.
The little yachts scud over the choppy surface of the river on a uncertain autumn day.

Photography 101: Pop of colour

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

