Lazy Sunday – Luna Park Sydney

This immense and rather manic looking clown greets you as you cross the boundary from the real world to this land of dreams (or cheap funfair attractions depending on your level of honesty)
This immense and rather manic looking clown greets you as you cross the boundary from the real world to this land of dreams (or cheap funfair attractions depending on your level of honesty)

Eh, t’as mangé un clown? Anon

Translation:”So you’ve eaten a clown?”

A useful French expression to use when a person persistently makes bad jokes.

A little while ago, the most excellent Elusive Trope nominated me to be a part of 3 quotes in 3 days and the wonderful Secret Keeper also nominated me for the same challenge. And then the weekly Word Press photo prompt was “Boundaries” and then I was going over my photos and I found this one I took of the entrance to Luna Park in Sydney when I was there last. This marks the boundary of the park and you pass through this disturbing clown’s face to enter it. One of the peculiarities is that the park still has many of its original rides from the 1920’s including a practically vertical and extremely high wooden slide that you ride down on a gunny sack. Terrifying. 

This clown’s face has undergone a number of renovations over the years and this one is closer to the original than the others which became progressively more menacing and disturbing until the park fell into disrepair in the 1970s. It is now fully functioning again and well worth a visit, particularly as it is at the base of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. If you are not prone to motion sickness, I can recommend going at night and riding on the “Tumble Bug” which throws you in every direction and gives you a view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge upside down and fully lit up.

WordPress Weekly Photo Prompt:Boundaries

Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge:http://ceenphotography.com/2015/10/04/cees-odd-ball-photo-challenge-2015-week-40/

10 Comments

  1. We must be close in age, as I recall the tres chic clown decor (NOT!) Between S. King, and the serial killer we had in the States whose sideline was being a clown at kids’ b’day parties…I’ve no fond regard for clowns.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I have always found them utterly repulsive. I have never heard a person spontaneously say to me “I just love clowns!” most say they just give them the creeps. The horrors you mention only add to the revulsion.

      Like

  2. For me, the photo is the boundary of a nightmare. There is the whole clown thing, and then it is an entrance to an amusement park: too many people in one place, too many lights and bells and other clanging noises, and the rides designed to terrify the sane person. My reluctance to go on these rides is one of those rare moments when I do feel like the sane one. Motion sickness is a concern, but nothing compared to the fear of impending death.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Luna Park is very small and has a kitsch quality that makes it tolerable. The Clown entrance is iconic but I am like you and find it horrifying. I can well understand your sensible reluctance to riding on the rickety old rides. It is the likelihood of mechanism failure that scares me to death too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

