French Friday – I am off!

Paris in the springtime
Paris in the springtime
Early morning from the Trocadero.ย This and so much more coming up on my travels to Europe.

It has been a long time in the planning but it is soon going to happen.

I am off to live in Paris for a while!

Take one French obsessed Aussie, his long suffering wife, a fourteen year old son and twenty two year old daughter, bundle them into a plane and send them to the other side of the globe and you have the ingredients for potential mayhem throughout Europe.

Les Invalides Paris in springtime
Les Invalides: Napoleon’s tomb is not prepared for the Paris family.

I will be starting a new blog devoted to sharing our adventures as we journey from Oxford, across Italy to Brittany and then to Paris.

I do soย hope some of you may like to join me in my adventures, as well as enjoy the sights through the lens of my new camera.

I will be posting links to the new blog regularly so stay in touch and follow if you enjoy what you see.

Hotel de Ville Paris in April
I am always grateful for small mercis. The Hotel de Ville, Paris

La vie est trop courte pour boire du mauvais vin will still go on but don’t fret if you notice things a little slow for a while.

I have always wanted to write a bit of a travel novel so we will see what comes of this.

I am not off for a while yet but I will keep you posted. Now of to conjugate a few “er” verbs before bedtime.

I wrote a regular travel diary last time I was in Oxford. Some of you may have glanced at my light hearted account of a teacher and his charges spending two weeks in this city of wonders.

If you would like to read the first installment of my letters home then you can follow the link here

https://amaviedecoeurentier.wordpress.com/2015/01/08/papa-bouilloire-goes-to-oxford/

All of my Oxford adventures can be found on the home page on the menu “Papa Bouilloire Goes to Oxford”

Bon weekend mes amis!

Pultney Bridge Bath
A week in Oxford should give us time to spend a day in Bath.

 

 

41 Comments

  1. Excellent news TJ, you’ll have to fit in a side trip to Cornwall whilst in the Northern Hemisphere, we’d be pleased to see you!
    As an aside, nice photo of Poultney Bridge in Bath. Look at the building on the right behind the bridge. See those half dropped blinds in the windows? That’s my apartment when I lived in Bath, many years ago, so that’s an old photo!!!!!
    Dookes

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I only have a week in Britain catching up with a friend in Oxford alas. A long stay in England is the next plan in the future then you may well get a knock on your door. ๐Ÿ™‚ Never invite an Aussie lightly! ๐Ÿ™‚ Haw absolutely fantastic that you lived in Bath and what a small world that I should have shared the picture of your apartment. I took this in 2013. Hope you have a great weekend mate!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Could I ask you in your capacity as a WordPress aficionado what to do if I think my Blog is being seen as spam by WordPress? I can’t seem to link to the Photo Challenge any more and my comments just don’t appear. Oh the first world problems we have to deal with! sigh. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Sigh. That sounds a bit like two issues. I would ask the Happiness Engineers as they can look deeply and (hopefully) do something where I can only guess. The comments are caught by Akismet – if you leave one on one of my posts, I’ll let you know if it gets marked as spam.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Thank you so much for checking. Sorry about wasting your time with previous questions. I so appreciate the info. Hope you have a lovely rest of the weekend! TJ

            Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks so much! I think I am able to comment on your posts by the looks of it. Do I need to contact a specific Happiness Engineer? Thanks for your advice (and beautiful blog) ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

    1. Thanks so much. We are in the last stages of preparation. As none of us really know what “cold” is like I have been buying thermal underwear in anticipation. (sorry! Is this called “oversharing”?) ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

    1. We have been planning this for years so it was before any of the tragedies. We have always wanted to spend some real time in Paris and just “live the life” rather than rush about frantically. It is always a risk but sadly unless you stay locked inside you could be caught up in something anywhere these days. It is a bit of solidarity too. We can’t let terror run our lives. We will be sensible of course. If you put off your dreams there is always another reason why you shouldn’t go. Here’s hoping for safe times! Thanks for your thoughts and concerns. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I totally agree with you, we can’t close ourselves and live a sheltered life. I am still trotting the world despite of all is happening these days. One of my American friends who did the same thing you are about to do, just returned after living 2 years in Paris, she couldn’t handle it anymore.
        I was just curious of your bold move. Be safe, be aware of your surroundings and above all live it up!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love to find time to but I will be with family and another friend is coming to Paris for three weeks for us to be together so maybe not this time alas. I will certainly be back though so you may not have heard the last of me! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoy every bit of it but I shall await your postings from Italy with anticipation. I’m not a great fan of Paris, love other parts of Frace, but my favourite country in Europe has to be Italy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

