Tiny things of exquisite beauty

This wooden bucket was a lucky find at the local thrift store.
This wooden bucket was a lucky find at the local thrift store.

Silently the buds

Wait and watch the bolder blooms

Loudly shout their joy

As you may or may not know, in my other existence I speak Japanese. Now some readers of this blog may cry…

“But you are obsessed with France!” and indeed they would be right.

I learnt Japanese at high school and went on to combine it with a Commerce degree at University. I learnt to love Japanese art and culture and have travelled there many times.

It is a world of incredible contrasts, crush trains and temples of calm stillness; extraordinary pristine landscapes and ulra-modern urban communities.

I have painted pottery in a mountain village unchanged for centuries and ridden on a roller coaster on top of a skyscraper in the centre of Tokyo; seen monkeys in the snow in magical Nikko and luxuriated in a hot water spring on a cliff side high in the mountains while the snow drifted down upon me.

So yes, I do love France for so many of the reasons I will continue to write about, but there is a part of me that loves Japan too. It also explains my love of Haiku. The Japanese attention to the beauty of small things is one of the aspects of Japan I particularly love. Tiny things of exquisite beauty.

Yesterday I found in a thrift store this Japanese ikebana vase. A few lilies and a couple of bits of geranium later it brightened up our kitchen. I do not possess a black belt in Ikebana, but I do love the vase which is fashioned in the shape of a traditional Japanese bucket with the wood treated to expose its wonderful grain.

In response to the beautiful prompt “In a Vase on Monday” hosted Rambling in the Garden whose floral photography will brighten up your day and to Ronovan Writes inspiring Haiku challenge. Do check them both out!

14 Comments

  1. What a delicious combination, the Haiku and the Vase. Japan is somewhere I would love to visit one day, so I enjoyed your reminiscences very much. Such a beautiful arrangement and the Haiku goes so perfectly with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an interesting combination! I also share a love of Japan and France but have nowhere near your experience of either!
    A sneaky feeling of previous lives spent in both as so much of their differing cultures resonate!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I share your suspicion. Sometimes I felt an an overwhelming feeling of “being home” in some of the places I visited. Fun to speculate on what might have been… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for joining us – and what an atmospheric vase you have produced for your debut appearance within the meme! An amazing background to your gorgeous lilies – and a link to haiku too! I have been sorely tempted to join the haiku challenge, so perhaps one of these days… See you with another vase soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello! I absolutely love your haiku––my favorite so far! My niece and her husband also speak Japanese. They are currently living in Tokyo. They are both teaching English to High School students. They have sent me so many beautiful pictures from there. I can’t wait to visit. The picture is gorgeous. The framing and lighting are superb. Love the bucket vase too. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much. So delighted you enjoyed the post! I hope you do visit Japan. Living in Tokyo can be a surreal experience sometimes; it is just so full on. I hope your niece gets the chance to see some other parts as well. Thanks again for your lovely comments. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment