TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge – Watch

 

Pocket Watch
This blue and white enameled silver watch sits in a my bookcase.

My heartless wrist watch,

Ticking off my life’s moments,

Like a shopping list.

Welcome to TJ’s Weekly Household Haiku Challenge.

The prompt for this week is “Watch”. It could be your own watch, the dial, numbers, where it came from…anything that inspires you. It is all about playing with ideas. The best haiku are often a quirky look at a mundane object.

Thanks to all those who participated in last week’s challenge…”Bucket”.

I was so impressed that such a prosaic object led to such poetry!

First in, Lady Lee Manila with a bucket of flowers.

https://ladyleemanila.wordpress.com/2016/01/30/tjs-household-haiku-challenge-bucket/

Life Home and Away celebrates life and wishing wells with these great haiku

https://livehomeandaway.wordpress.com/2016/01/31/bucket/

Kia has gone for the trifecta and produced 3 great takes on the prompt.

https://recoveringknowitall.wordpress.com/2016/01/30/tjs-household-haiku-challenge-buckets/

Bastet has included a wonderful photo of a bygone era and written a great haiku to match.

https://bastetandsekhmet.wordpress.com/2016/01/31/tjs-household-haiku-challenge-bucket-january-31-2016/

Welcome to Azul Zaffre with this wonderful sequence of haiku. Her cup (or bucket) overfloweth with love here. 

https://behinddistantdoors.wordpress.com/2016/02/01/valentine-barter-buckets/

And Elusive trope and a bambi bucket. I know you will want to read now!

http://elusivetrope.com/2016/02/02/air-drop/

Mira from “To Wear a Rainbow” has an invite to a well known couple in this lovely haiku.

https://toweararainbow.wordpress.com/2016/02/06/jack-and-jill/

If you have participated and do not see your name here then please let me know and I will add you immediately (or pretty quickly!)

The easiest way to participate is to add a link to your haiku post in the comment section by clicking on the black speech bubble at the end of this post!
Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Time

 

 

 

 

29 Comments

          1. Hahahahaha–you always manage to get a laugh out of me, for which I’m most grateful 🙂 And sometimes the ones I write, and judge “so-so”, are applauded–we never really know how readers will react.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Welcome back and happy new year I hope. 🙂 Thanks so much for joining in and great to see you back in the blogosphere. Best wishes. TJ

      Like

  1. Hi TJ! I can’t believe I missed the challenge last week. So I did a combined Haiku for you this week. Here is Watch (Timepiece) & Bucket! 😊

    Like

    1. It is timely that “watch” is the prompt this week. The time is just flying by! I can’t believe Saturday comes around so fast. Lovely of you to do a combination haiku and in a blink of an eye it will be next week. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you TJ. I hate that I missed it last week. I love that the themes of your challenge always focus on seemingly mundane household things. Have a lovely week. See you next Saturday! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I wonder if you’d consider replacing your present participles (ticking, for instance) to the simple present (ticks), see how you like it. Of course that would probably not call for that first comma. Beautiful site. =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the suggestion. It is so interesting to see how a simply change like you suggests impacts of the feel of the poem. Thanks so much for visiting. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment