Pride Commeth Before a Fall

Of the thousands of pictures in the Louvre, I fell in love with this gentle lady who peers so sweetly from her frame. How kind of here to stand still for me to take this picture!
Of the thousands of pictures in the Louvre, I fell in love with this gentle lady who peers so sweetly from her frame. How kind of her to stand still for me to take this picture!

Dear indulgent reader I have reached the end of the Writing 201 course on poetry. At last I bid the poetic muse a fond farewell for the time being and return to my more prosaic musings. A last hurrah for the poetry and a sonnet is the form required. The theme was “Future”. Although the sonnet is not about the future, I almost did not have one when a rake I carelessly left lying in the garden bed caused one of my nearest and dearest to find themselves grovelling amongst the cherry tomatoes.

A Morning Encounter

I watched the sun the morning clouds enflame,

To diamonds turn the dew upon the grass,

The sky itself half-blushed as if in shame,

And all the world did turn to see you pass.

 

A gentle breeze tugged softly at your dress.

As if to hold you back for but a while,

And give your cheek but one more soft caress,

And linger on the vestige of your smile.

 

The morning air you breathed the sweeter grew,

The path you trod the lighter for your tread,

The birds in tribute from the hedges flew,

And traced a pretty pattern round your head.

 

Forgive a fool who caused you to be humbled,

When headfirst o’er the left-out rake you tumbled.

I notice that the colour “bittersweet” in the One Word Photo Challenge is very similar to the paint colour used in the Louvre to highlight the pictures in that particular gallery. You can find a link here to see some other examples of this colour.
One Word Photo Challenge: Bittersweet

11 Comments

Leave a Reply

