Let them eat Marie – Haiku

Marie Antoinette Hamlet
Marie Antoinette obviously sympathized with the peasants. That must have been why she had this fake farm built just for her on the grounds of Versailles so she could dress as a milk maid and make cheese.

The Ravening Hordes

Wolf down Marie Antoinette

Instead of her cake

Ronovan’s prompts for his haiku challenge of “Wolf and Cake” left me in despair. This is as close as I can come to making sense of them. Where is the chance to include a subtle nod to the seasons, that change of mood viewed through a dew-drop? Wolf! Cake! Phooey!

Poor Marie Antoinette. Apparently she never even said “Let them eat cake” and it was all a nasty rumor spread to discredit her. True, she was a little lax when it came to looking after her diamonds and she did spend rather a lot of money but a Queen can’t wear the same old dress every day can she?

And she did have a whole imitation farm built for her out the back of Versailles so she could pretend to be a peasant. And yet the ravening hordes of revolutionaries were not satisfied.

Ronovan Writes Weekly Haiku Challenge: https://ronovanwrites.wordpress.com/2015/12/07/ronovanwrites-weekly-haiku-poetry-prompt-challenge-74-cakewolf/

 

 

 

 

 

19 Comments

  1. Gosh this made me snort with laughter! Love a bit of black humour!
    One of my favourite films is Sofia Coppola’s ‘Marie Antoinette’ with Kirsten Dunst – have you seen it?

    I agree with you about the impossibility to get the whole double meaning/seasons reference in – sometimes you just have to bend zee rules and just go for it – I love your take on it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Merci Madame! Tres Gentil of you! I have seen the film and I recall Ms Dunst eating rather too many macarons than what was good for her but I did enjoy it. I agree with you. Sometimes “zee” rules are meant to be broken. Thanks for the lovely comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Those macaroons! The colours! in fact it is the colour palette of the film that I find mouthwatering and such a delight – as well as the quirkiness of course. Poor little Marie – strange life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have spent my life accumulating information that has been of absolutely no use in my career. I can also sing almost all of the songs of the 1930 and 40s from heart but surprisingly no one has the faintest idea what they are. (burst loudly into “Golden Earnings”. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Don’t know what I love the most, T.J. Your hilarious title, your haiku, your interesting info about Marie (with a twist of humor) or the conversation with Jael. A wonderful post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a lovely way to start the day! Your lovely, generous comment! (blushes again under beard) I so enjoy the conversations even though the commenters usually have to wait for the globe to spin have around for me to be awake to answer. Hope you have a wonderful week, Christmas and New Year! TJ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment