Notre Dame Scrolls

This understated little bit of iron scroll work enhances the one of the doors into Notre Dame. I snapped this on a lucky day when there were very few tourists.
This understated little bit of iron scroll work enhances the one of the doors into Notre Dame. I snapped this on a lucky day when there were very few tourists.

It was one of those lucky moments when, for reasons unknown, Notre Dame was almost empty. Autumn was approaching and the fully blown flowers inspired a sense of melancholy as we knew that in just a week they would fall and winter would come. It was our last day in Paris and we held on to each moment reverentially, lingering at the doors of the cathedral while I snapped a photo or two of the intricate scrollwork.

As tears welled in my eyes I felt a hand slip into mine and an arm wrap around my neck. Kitty, Miss H. and I clung to each other and turned our faces bravely away from Notre Dame. Raised our eyes upward as in a silent prayer…..and took a selfie.

 

The Daily Post: Ornate

4 Comments

    1. Thanks so much. I am enjoying sharing the moment and can’t resist going a bit over the top with my descriptions as I love 18th century travel stories (with a bit of a sting in the tail). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

