Oxford Roses

Summer in Oxford and the rambling roses maintain the aura of romance unlike the befli-flopped croquet players.
Summer in Oxford and the rambling roses maintain the aura of romance, unlike the beflip-flopped croquet players.

There is something so quintessentially romantic about climbing roses and these rambled charmingly over the fences while I went for a solitary stroll in Oxford. Was it somewhere near Christchurch College? I can’t recall, but it was a lovely summer’s day and and the photograph did catch a pretty moment.

I do recall that there was a field of very contented looking cows relatively close by and that a group of people were playing croquet in a garden of such perfection that I would have sworn I was in a set of a Edwardian movie produced by Merchant Ivory except the players, who obviously had no sense of the picturesque, were wearing t-shirts and sandals.

I really feel people should not be permitted to play croquet unless they are wearing flannels and boaters or charming frocks fashioned from Liberty Art Fabrics.

1 Comment

Leave a comment